We’ll apply any of your available promos or ride credits toward eligible rides. This doesn’t include Lyft Business rides.
You can choose the promo you want to use at the start or end of your ride by selecting it from the payment options. A list of available promotions or payments will appear for you to choose from.
Check your email or the ‘Notifications’ tab in your app for promo offers.
In select cities, you can refer your friends to Lyft and each get a free ride. The rider you refer must be new to Lyft, meaning they’ve never requested a ride before.
To refer a new rider open to the Lyft app and tap ‘Get $5 free’ main menu. Then you can:
- Invite friends from your phone’s contact list
- Get your unique referral code to share with friends
New riders can see their ride credit right away on the app under the ‘Promo’ section. You must apply referral codes in the ‘Promo’ section before taking your first ride.
Referring riders will see their credit after the new passenger takes a ride. Most new rider credits expire within 14 days. The option to refer new riders is only available in the Lyft rider app (not the Lyft Driver app). Participation in this promotion is subject to Lyft’s Terms of Service.
Some promotions are invite-only, or are available for a limited time. We can’t extend offers beyond the expiration date. Check the 'Promos' tab for promo details and expiration dates.
If you get an error message, the code isn't available. Please try a different code. If that code doesn't work, your account isn't eligible for new user credits.